Common Wealth Short story Prize Writing for Unpublished Short FictionContest($15000 in cash prize)

The Common Wealth Short Story Prize Is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Common Wealth Foundation. The Common Wealth Short Story Prize is run by Common Wealth writers, the cultural program for Common Wealth Foundation. The Prize covers the Commonwealth regions of 1. Africa, 2. Asia, 3. Canada and Europe, 4. Caribbean and 5. Pacific.


  • Entrants must be a citizen of the commonwealth country -Please see section 5 for the list of commonwealth countries- or a stateless person currently residing in a commonwealth country. The commonwealth foundation will request verification of citizenship status before winners are selected. Entries from citizens of non-commonwealth countries are not eligible.
  • For regional purposes, entries will be judged by country of citizenship. Where the writers have dual citizenship(of two commonwealth countries), the entry will be judged in the region where the writer is permanently resident.
  • There is no requirement for the writer to have current resident in the commonwealth country, providing that they are a citizen of a commonwealth country.
  • Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2021.

-All entries will be accepted at the discretion of the Commonwealth Foundation which will excise its judgment, in consultation with the prize chair, in ruling on questions of eligibility. The ruling of the chair on questions of eligibility is final, and no further correspondence will be entered into.

-Entries from previous overall winners of the commonwealth short story prize are not eligible. Entries from the previous regional winners are eligible.

-Entries from current members of staff at the Commonwealth Foundation are not eligible.

-Entries must be unpublished and remain unpublished in any language until 1 May 2022.


  • The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over.
  • It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction(2000-5000 words)

As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil, and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives the additional prize money.


  • Regional winners each receive $2500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta Magazine and the overall winner receives $5000.
  • There will be five winners, one from each region. One regional winner will be selected as the overall winner. The winner of the overall commonwealth short story prize will receive $5000 and the remaining four regions will receive $2500.
  • If the winning short story is translated into English, the translator will receive additional prize money.

Prize region

Africa: Botswana, Cameroon, Eswatini, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia Nigeria, Rwanda, Seychelles, Siera Leone, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.

Overseas territories: Saint Helena, Tristan Da Cunha, Ascension Island

Asia: Bangladesh, Brunei Darussalam, India, Malaysia, Maldives, Pakistan, Singapore, Sri Lanka,

Canada and Europe: Canada, Cyprus, Malta, United Kingdom.

Overseas Territories: Gibraltar, Falkland island

Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaika,  St Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, St Vincent, and the Grenadines, Trinidad, and Tobago.

Overseas Territories: Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Island, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks, and Caicos Islands.

Pacific: Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Island,

Tonga, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

overseas territories: Cook Island, Niue, Pitcairn.

Opening Date:1st September 2021

Closing Date: 30th September 2021

Apply Now




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *